"Not in the right country"?

Discussion in 'RED DWARF XI / XII' started by HO HO HO I'M JMC, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. HO HO HO I'M JMC

    HO HO HO I'M JMC Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,533
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    I'm sat in the UK on Sky Broadband, but UKTV Play has suddenly decided I'm in the wrong country and won't let me watch anything. Is anyone else having this problem currently?

    I am disgusted.
     
  2. HO HO HO I'M JMC

    HO HO HO I'M JMC Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,533
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Argh!! Looks like it's lots of people, based on Twitter.
     
  3. Whisper

    Whisper First Technician

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Just tested it for you and I have the same error. Must be system problem.
     
  4. Freeborn

    Freeborn Flight Co-Ordinator

    Messages:
    8,313
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    The Land of Freebornia
    I finished watching the new ep just over an hour ago and had no problems, but yeah I'm getting the same message now: "The video you are trying to watch cannot be viewed from your current country or location". How strange. :?

    Edit: It literally just started working again. Go and try it again. :-)
     
  5. HO HO HO I'M JMC

    HO HO HO I'M JMC Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,533
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Yes, sorted :-)

    Very annoying though!!
     
  6. Decembers

    Decembers Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Location:
    London
    Saw the thread title and thought JMC had joined the anti-immigration bandwagon.
     
  7. bedfordfalls

    bedfordfalls Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Use a VPN. That's how I watch it.
     
  8. Goit_84

    Goit_84 First Technician

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    I had this problem too and I'm with BT.

    I figured it was maybe something to do with the fact my device wasn't configured with a location, so I set my Windows 10 location and it worked.

    I think perhaps, like iPlayer, the device needs to be in a UK location. I am not sure about how this has solved the problem, but I tried all sorts of things, and this was the thing that fixed it.

    Are you using a PC with Windows 10 to watch? If so, set your location and try again.
     
  9. HO HO HO I'M JMC

    HO HO HO I'M JMC Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,533
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    It looked like the problem was temporary and affected either everyone or a lot of people.

    Eventually, it just let me watch videos as normal, and I was able to watch Officer Rimmer. I suspect the fault got fixed in due course, and your setting the location in Windows was a coincidence. However, I'll bear that in mind if it happens again :-)
     
  10. Goit_84

    Goit_84 First Technician

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Yeah I thought it might have been coincidence because I always thought the ISP controls that kind of thing.

    Blame Brexit
     

Share This Page