RDXI Possibly Spoilery Theory for the new Series

Discussion in 'RED DWARF XI / XII' started by karnie, Oct 21, 2016.

1. karnie

karnie Supply Officer

OK guys, I have a theory about Series XI. It's just a theory, I have no insider knowledge and did not attend any tapings, it's just an observation, but it could possibly be a huge spoiler for next season. So read on at your own risk.

Einstein has been referenced in EVERY episode of Series XI. That can't just be a mistake, I know they like to reference things in the past, but this goes beyond that. So....

If you remember in Series VII, as the crew were escaping Red Dwarf to find the nanobots, Kryten made reference to an SS Einstein, a ship they wanted to get supplies from. Except, that was in a psychotropically-induced hallucination. So...

I think the constant references mean they're in some kind of hallucination/artificial reality/reality bubble throughout the season and possibly the next.

It would certain fit the "series-killing spoiler" Naylor was worried about leaking in the press.

2. Chris D

Chris D Engineer

That seems a bit convoluted and unsatisfying.

The mentions of Einstein seem too throwaway and subtle to have any sort of significance. Though it is an interesting observation.

Also, I want them to have experienced what we've watched them experience. It's like some crap book ending where the protagonist wakes up and it's all a dream. Almost too cliché, and one that isn't exactly new to them. That does give it some credence; the fact that we've seen the Despair squid saga twice now, but both of those were opposite ends of the scale so different enough (despair vs joy) to be just about acceptable.

If anything I think the big spoiler could take the form of something more basic (though perhaps equally unsatisfying) - getting Holly booted back up or finding out Kochanski's fate.

3. karnie

karnie Supply Officer