Red Dwarf RPG

Discussion in 'RED DWARF UNIVERSE' started by acerimmer_165, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. acerimmer_165

    acerimmer_165 Supply Officer

    Messages:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Apparently Deep7 has released a Red Dwarf RPG...

    But I cant find it anywhere :evil:

    Does anyone know where I can get it, or if it is any good?

    (btw I'll probably get it even if it aint all that good - it's red dwarf after all :-D)
     
  2. sionmowb

    sionmowb Skutter

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    Holyhead Anglesey Wales
    http://www.amazon.com/Red-Dwarf-RPG-Todd-Downing/dp/0971082030

    Amazon.com have a listing for it and there are a few sellers there.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Red-Dwarf-DSV200-new-RPG_W0QQitemZ270363368790QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item270363368790&_trksid=p3286.m63.l1177

    It's also being sold over on eBay from a US seller, as well as the following extras to go with it, one from a UK seller;

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Red-Dwarf-Series-Sourcebook-DSV202-new-RPG_W0QQitemZ290305360762QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item290305360762&_trksid=p3286.m63.l1177

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Red-Dwarf-A-I-Screen-RPG-GM_W0QQitemZ270361505508QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Toys_RolePlaying_RL?hash=item270361505508&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72:1683|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318

    Hope these are of some help.
     
  3. GTaDave

    GTaDave Catering Officer

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    Driving an Italia Gagliano, The Grizzly Circuit, M
    How does this work? If its a book how is it an RPG?
     
  4. sanja

    sanja Supply Officer

    Messages:
    794
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    3 milion years from Earth
    How can you buy rpg? maybe site for it? interesting
     
  5. joe_mills

    joe_mills First Technician

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    chester
    I dont know much about rpg's but i have the book, its not an online game for sure. The book is only worth picking up if you collect RD memorabilia as it contains some very interesting little facts and some cool pics, but other than that its not essential Dwarf reading.
     
  6. GTaDave

    GTaDave Catering Officer

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    Driving an Italia Gagliano, The Grizzly Circuit, M
    Perhaps I have my wires crossed, what does RPG stand for in this case? I'm know it to be an Abreviation of Role Playing Game.
     
  7. darthjimscott4th

    darthjimscott4th Skutter

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Queens New York United States
    I would like to take the time to plug my Red Dwarf RPG fan page.

    http://www.freewebs.com/roleplayingreddwarfz/

    Even if you don't Roleplay it has a lot of fluff concerning the different types of
    GELFs that exist in the Year 3,000,000 AD.

    I'm a purest so there are NO ALIENS in my Red Dwarf Bestiary. All the lifeforms in the Universe trace
    their linage back to Mother Earth.


    I have fan module called Resident Smeghead that combines Red Dwarf With Resident Evil & other odd stuff.

    Enjoy!

    -Darth Jim Scott 4th USA
     
  8. Stephen

    Stephen Console Officer

    Messages:
    4,986
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Location:
    Hillingdon
    I've got the roleplaying book, the AI add on and the series source book. The series source book is great as it goes into a lot of detail.
     
  9. sdrawnaM

    sdrawnaM Third Technician

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Leicester
    I bought this when it was first released, years ago, just because it was Red Dwarf. Never actually played it. I've never had the patience for pen-and-paper RPGs. It's in the vein of Dungeons & Dragons. You create a character, assign him or her statistics, and then roleplay as that character while adhering generally to the rules. The only thing I remember from the book is that it had iguanas as an extinct species, which was a nice reference to the "What's an iguana?" gag from Series I.
     
  10. djdirtyboy

    djdirtyboy Skutter

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Its a table top rpg. Like Dungeons and Dragons. Pen, paper, dice, and imagination are all you need to play. And of course the ability to read, and write.
     
  11. GTaDave

    GTaDave Catering Officer

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    Driving an Italia Gagliano, The Grizzly Circuit, M
    ahhhhh right my m8 likes that sort of thing I wonder if he is aware of that. I shall let him know thanks for the know how:-)
     
  12. GTaDave

    GTaDave Catering Officer

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    Driving an Italia Gagliano, The Grizzly Circuit, M
    There is one on ebay atm, though after recent spendings on ebay stuff, I'm not going to bid on it. But i was intrigued by the sellers comments. They seem to believe that this book was only released in the US is that true?
     
  13. nicky_j

    nicky_j Deck Sergeant

    Messages:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Theres a shop in leeds that used to sell it but not sure if it still does. I bought one years ago.
     
  14. joe_mills

    joe_mills First Technician

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    chester
    theres one on ebay ending in about 2 hours
     
  15. GTaDave

    GTaDave Catering Officer

    Messages:
    460
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    Driving an Italia Gagliano, The Grizzly Circuit, M
    Ive just aquired a mint copy of the role playing game book Its great though I'm leaving it in its bubble wrap for now. I'm aware of the A.I. Screen add on, but whats the series source book?:?
     
  16. Andrew

    Andrew Executive Officer

    Messages:
    1,665
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    It allows each episode of series one to eight to be 'played' as an RPG. You'll find more details by doing a search on reddwarf.co.uk - this being an especially handy page.
     

Share This Page