Rimmers Father

Discussion in 'RED DWARF UNIVERSE' started by talkie3000, May 10, 2013.

1. talkie3000

talkie3000 Deck Sergeant

Now i may be the only person who feels this way but i’m not a huge fan of the big reveal in the beginning, which is lecturer Rimmer revealing Arnold isn’t his son and his father is actually the gardener

now one of my major issues with this the idea was that Rimmer blamed his parents for how he turned out which has sorta been stated in the early days as being just an excuse, with ace rimmer for example, but with the beginning we kinda get this conclusion Rimmer heritage explains who Rimmer is and lister cracks jokes how it makes sense now we find out who his real dad is and it kinda goes against the idea of the character and contradicts alot of things almost as if this is trying to explain Rimmers failures

another issue i have with it is we heard storys of who Rimmers step dad was throught BTL and the inquisitor (half-crazed military failure), and through out most of The beginning he is suppose to be this demon holding Rimmer back so he is almost this bad guy, or at least this is the idea its trying to give the audience, then we get the holomessage from him where he states he didn’t want to hold Rimmer back and thats why he never told him he wasn’t his dad, which makes him sound like he cared about Rimmer and actually wanted Rimmer to succeed which is a big revelation really, but then he happly tells rimmer about his real heritage again becoming this almost bad person and reverts back to the demon, so what is he?

while before this episode we could just say Rimmer had a strict dad and stuff, but i find it an even more bigger mystery now with this episode to why his step dad raised him in the first place, if he knew Rimmer wasn’t his son, if he knew his wife cheated?, and what about his brothers? doug has gone into Series 10 with Rimmers past in mind and opened alot of questions i feel personally

Opinions?

2. Mardroid