Series 8 FANS thread!

Discussion in 'RED DWARF UNIVERSE' started by JCjunkstar, Feb 13, 2012.

1. JCjunkstar

JCjunkstar Second Technician

Hi guys (I'm a newbie to the forum) - but long time fan of Red Dwarf. I have to say that series 8 is (for me) - RIGHT up there with the high points of series 1-6. In fact, it is probably in my TOP THREE series of RD ever. I am perplexed at people who seem to loathe it so much. For me, it was a more expansive (bigger cast, bigger production values) series than previously, and had some episodes that again, for me - were up there with my all time favourites. I simply adore Krytie TV, the 3 part Back In The Red, and Cassandra. I like the fact that there's a playing to the gallery approach from the cast at times, and I think it adds to the warmth of the series, in terms of it feels more like I am a part of the show as a fan, than maybe previously. I think series 8 brought back what series 1 and 2 had going for it so much, which was the 'Porridge in space' sort of vibe. Rimmer and Lister, two guys who annoy the hell out of each other, but need each other to stop going insane - trapped in a cell, in a ship, in space - it brought that right back to the forefront of the show. That meant more scheming again, more neuroses being aired and just the tension was back up to scratch which Dwarf has always had! So yeah, I love series 8 it's one of the best, and if EVER I am thinking which DVD to watch - it's always a toss up between 3 & 8! (maybe 1&2) (for a quick episode).:lol:
    ---
    I did post this comment in another place too, but felt like it was time to get series 8 lovers/fans showing some smegging love!

2. mophead241

mophead241 Catering Officer

Welcome to the forum.
    I have to say that series 8 is probably my least favourite series, although I love BITR and Cassandra. The second half of the series was nowhere near as good IMO.

3. talkie3000

talkie3000 Deck Sergeant