Funk and Soul II

Electric Boogaloo?

15 November, 2013

It must be great being a radio DJ. Not only do you get to foist your music taste upon captivated listeners on a weekly or even daily basis, but every so often, a record company might come along and give you the chance to foist it upon the album-buying public, as well. That's what happened to Craig Charles a year ago, when Freestyle records put out his first Funk and Soul Club compilation album. And yes, we did say "first", because lo and behold, they've gone and done it again!

Funk and Soul II

Due for release on 25th November, The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club 2 contains a further eighteen rip-roaring tracks (is "rip-roaring" something that funk and soul tracks do? We're not entirely sure), handpicked by Craig himself. As he explains:

"Whilst my 6 Music radio show features much of the music from the golden age of American soul & funk music, my compilations for Freestyle are a showcase for the contemporary bands that are all part of the worldwide response to the original pioneers and innovators of that sound - all the artists featured are doing their funky thing now - this is no history lesson!"

Here's the tracklisting:

1 Aldo Vanucci - You're All Show (Smoove Remix Craig Charles Edit) [feat. Kylie Auldist]
2 Lack of Afro - The Outsider (Part 2)
3 Mop Mop - Run Around (feat. Fred Wesley & Anthony Joseph)
4 Euro Cinema - Koekwaus
5 Saskwatch - Second Best
6 The James Taylor Quartet - Blow Up
7 The Bongolian - The Riviera Affair
8 The Hot 8 Brass Band - Ghost Town
9 Hidden Jazz Quartett - High Heels (Lack of Afro Remix)
10 The Perceptions - Bite the Bit
11 Jessica Lauren Four - Happiness Train (feat. Jocelyn Brown)
12 Omar - There's Nothing Like This (feat. Pino Palladino)
13 Dr. Rubberfunk - Creek Walk
14 Cookin' on 3 Burners - Cars
15 Deep Street Soul - What She Said
16 The Sweet Vandals - Feel Alive
17 Emma Beatson & The Hawkmen - Do It (Mako & The Hawk Version)
18 Tape Five - Geraldine's Routine

You can pre-order the album physically from Amazon, and digitally from iTunes. You can also find out more, and hear sample tracks, at Freestyle Records.

The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club 2 is out on 25th November.

Share this page:

  • Post this story to Facebook
  • Tweet this story
  • Post this story to Pinterest
  • Share this story via Skype
  • Post this story to Google+
  • Post this story to Delicious
  • Post this story to Digg
  • Post this story to Reddit