Funky Six

Craig's latest compilation album, just in time for Christmas!

30 November, 2018

It's a twenty-first century Christmas tradition that just keeps going: once again, December rolls around, and once again Craig Charles has got a new Funk & Soul Club compilation album out.

Funky Six

We're sure you know the drill by now, but just in case you don't - Craig has been hosting the Funk & Soul Show on BBC 6Music, as well as running a slate of hugely successful Funk & Soul club nights, for over fifteen years - and since 2012, he's also released a compilation album every Christmas featuring his own personally selected highlights of the genre.

We'll turn over to the man himself to tell you about the latest edition, which hits shelves today (30th November):

Since the very first edition of my Funk & Soul Club compilations was released back in 2012, I've continued my mission to spread the sound of mighty good grooves right around the world, not just via my radio shows on 6Music and BBC Radio 2, and my live DJ-ing to funk hungry punters in places as far apart as Aberdeen and Australia. The music continues to grow, expand and spread the message that no matter if it's classic or brand spanking new, quality funky, soulful, jazzy, latin or bluesy sounds, people of every age, of every shade, from all over the planet cannot get enough of the real deal!

If I say so myself, this 6th volume of The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club may just be the best yet, featuring seventeen cool contemporary cuts, and two absolute solid gold, classic rare groove monsters that have proven to be evergreen dance floor destroyers for 4 decades!

I hope it keeps you boogieing, and grooving until the next one.. the only thing for me to say now is.. of course.. Awooga!

And here's a look at the full tracklist:

1. The Bamboos Golden Ticket
2. Lance Ferguson's Rare Groove Spectrum Smokey Joe's La La
3. The Mighty Ryeders Evil Vibrations
4. Matador! Soul Sounds Too Late
5. Grupo Magnetico Papa Was a Rolling Stone
6. The Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio Ain't It Funky Now
7. Michelle David and The Gospel Sessions Gonna Be Alright
8. Mestizo Beat Featherbed Lane
9. Smoove & Turrell You're Gone feat. Izo FitzRoy
10. Kizzy Crawford Progression
11. Chip Wickham Rebel No. 23
12. The Lewis Express Brother Move On
13. Courtney Pine Rules feat. Omar
14. Brian Auger's Oblivion Express Foolish Girl feat. Alex Ligertwood
15. The New Mastersounds Tantalus
16. The Getup Hush
17. Orquesta Akokan Mambo Rapidito
18. Gizelle Smith Scared of Something
19. Menagerie Spiral

You can order the album at Amazon, or directly from the label at Bandcamp - where you'll also get access to a free download if you buy the CD!

Meanwhile, if you're after a slightly different slice of Craig style this festive season, then get tuned in to Radio 2 - as we now have the broadcast date for his live poetry-meets-orchestra extravaganza. Scary Fairy Saves Christmas will be broadcast on the station at 8pm on Friday 7th December, and you'll also be able to listen again on the BBC website shortly afterwards.

Keep up with all the latest Craig happenings on Twitter!

Share this page:

  • Post this story to Facebook
  • Tweet this story
  • Post this story to Pinterest
  • Share this story via Skype
  • Post this story to Google+
  • Post this story to Delicious
  • Post this story to Digg
  • Post this story to Reddit